IT BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma

Course type: BTEC/UAL Level 3 Extended Diplomas • Awarding/exam body: Pearson
Equivalent to 3 A levels.

This course has been designed for students gain the abilities and knowledge to succeed in the I.T. sector. You will learn about computers and their use and importance in modern communication technology.

Course Units

Unit 01: Information Technology Systems (externally assessed)
Unit 03: Using Social Media in Business (Core Unit - internally assessed)
Unit 05: Data Modelling (Further Unit)
Unit 06: Website Development (Further Unit)
Unit 11: Cyber Security & Incident Management (externally assessed)
Unit 12: I.T Technical Support & Management (Further Unit)
Unit 17: Digital 2D & 3D Graphics (Further Unit)
Unit 02: Creating Systems to Manage Information (Externally assessed)
Unit 04: Programming (Core Unit)
Unit 07: Mobile Apps Development (Further Unit)
Unit 08: Computer Games Development (Further Unit)
Unit 09: I.T. Project Management (Core Unit)
Unit 14: I.T. Service Delivery (externally assessed)

Course Assessment

Assessment will be carried out internally by teaching staff and the grades will then be sent to Pearson for moderation. Some units will be assessed through externally assessed examination.

This Course Can Lead To…

Many students from Saint Francis Xavier Sixth Form College go on to study degrees in subjects such as Computing, Engineering, IT, Business, Multimedia and Networks Technology. Others have chosen to take up employment in these fields and have received further training whilst at work.

Entry Requirements

Grade 4 in Maths
BTEC Level 2 Diploma in ICT (or equivalent) with Merit and Grade 4 in Maths

Course Highlights

  • Explore and experiment with different types of networks and the standards relating to network
  • systems, including local and wide area networks in a well-equipped Lab.
  • We offer work experience with wellknown companies such as BT, Barclays Bank PLC & Transport for London.